DWI penalties in New York are tough.

If you’ve been charged with a DWI, you are facing the suspension of your driver license, hefty fines and even possible jail time. One reason why DWI penalties in New York State may be harsh is that more than one third of the fatalities in New York involve impaired or intoxicated drivers and pedestrians. That’s why, more than ever, you need a lawyer who is experienced in fighting DWI penalties in New York such as Lipsitz Green Scime Cambria. Talk to experienced DWI attorneys who have handled virtually ever type of defense case from murder, drug charges and DWI to tax, administrative and anti-trust issues.

A crash course in DWI penalties.

Here is a list of DWI penalties in New York that you could be facing. This list includes monetary fines, imprisonment and driver license suspension.

Violation Mandatory Fine Max Jail Term Driver License Action
Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated (AGG DWI) $1,000 - $2,500 1 year Revoked for at least 1 year
Second AGG DWI in 10 years (E felony) $1,000 - $5,000 4 years Revoked for at least 18 months
Third AGG DWI in 10 years (D felony) $2,000 - $10,000 7 years Revoked for at least 18 months
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Driving While Impaired by a Drug (DWAI-Drug) $500 - $1,000 1 year DWI - Revoked for at least 6 months; DWAI-Drug - Suspended for at least 6 months
Second DWI or DWAI-Drug violation in 10 years (E felony) $1,000 - $5,000 4 years Revoked for at least 1 year
Third DWI or DWAI-Drug violation in 10 years (D felony) $2,000 - $10,000 7 years Revoked for at least 1 year
Driving While Ability Impaired by a Combination of Alcohol/Drugs (DWAI-Combination) $500 - $1,000 1 year Revoked for at least 6 months
Second DWAI-Combination in 10 years (E felony) $1,000 - $5,000 4 years Revoked for at least 1 year
Third DWAI-Combination in 10 years (D felony) $2,000 - $10,000 7 years Revoked for at least 1 year
Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol (DWAI) $300 - $500 15 days Suspended for 90 days
Second DWAI violation in 5 years $500 - $750 30 days Revoked for at least 6 months
Third or subsequent DWAI within 10 years (Misdemeanor) $750 - $1,500 180 days Revoked for at least 6 months

Source: New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

Defend yourself and your future with Lipsitz Green Scime Cambria.

Being charged with a DWI is devastating to both you and your family. But don’t make an even bigger mistake by facing DWI penalties in New York State alone. You need a team of experienced, highly qualified lawyers on your side to help you understand the timelines, potential penalties and options that are available. Call Lipsitz Green Scime Cambria at 716 849 1333 today.