Driver license suspension can bring your life to a halt.
If you’ve been charged with a DWI, you are facing a mandatory driver license suspension period. The length of the suspension depends on the seriousness of the DWI and how many previous DWI convictions you have. Driver license suspension can range from 90 days for Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) to at least 18 months for some felony DWI convictions. Under New York State law, if you refuse breath or blood tests during your DWI arrest, you will face an automatic driver license suspension for at least one year.
Driver License Suspension Chart
|Violation||Driver License Suspension|
|Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated (AGG DWI)||Revoked for at least 1 year|
|Second AGG DWI in 10 years (E felony)||Revoked for at least 18 months|
|Third AGG DWI in 10 years (D felony)||Revoked for at least 18 months|
|Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Driving While Impaired by a Drug (DWAI-Drug)||DWI – Revoked for at least 6 months; DWAI-Drug – Suspended for at least 6 months|
|Second DWI or DWAI-Drug violation in 10 years (E felony)||Revoked for at least 1 year|
|Third DWI or DWAI-Drug violation in 10 years (D felony)||Revoked for at least 1 year|
|Driving While Ability Impaired by a Combination of Alcohol/Drugs (DWAI-Combination)||Revoked for at least 6 months|
|Second DWAI-Combination in 10 years (E felony)||Revoked for at least 1 year|
|Third DWAI-Combination in 10 years (D felony)||Revoked for at least 1 year|
|Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol (DWAI)||Suspended for 90 days|
|Second DWAI violation in 5 years||Revoked for at least 6 months|
|Third or subsequent DWAI within 10 years (Misdemeanor)||Revoked for at least 6 months|
Source: New York State Department of Motor Vehicles
Lipsitz Green Scime Cambria can put you back in the driver’s seat.
Even if your driver license suspension only lasts for a few months, it can still be disruptive to your life. Before you receive a driver license suspension, contact Lipsitz Green Scime Cambria. The firm’s dedicated lawyers will help you understand the timelines, potential penalties and options for defending yourself against a driver license suspension. Lipsitz Green Scime Cambria will work hard on your behalf to help you minimize your driver license suspension for the best possible outcome.
Do you qualify for a conditional license?
The New York State Drinking Driver Program (DDP) enables first-time offenders facing driver license suspension to obtain a conditional license that may be used to drive to and from work or school. The DDP course includes drug and alcohol education, counseling, screening and evaluation by professionals. To learn more about the Drinking Driver Program and to find out if you qualify, contact Lipsitz Green Scime Cambria today.