What qualifies as aggravated DWI in New York?
If you’ve been charged with aggravated DWI in Buffalo, New York, there is an allegation that you were operating a motor vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.18 or higher. For drivers 21 years of age or older, that is more than twice the legal limit. Aggravated DWI in New York is a new category of driving while intoxicated, and it comes with stricter penalties as well as new plea-bargaining restrictions.
The penalty for a first-time conviction includes:
- A misdemeanor criminal conviction
- Automatic one-year driver license revocation
- A fine of $1,000-$2,500
- A surcharge of $395 ($400 in a town or village court)
- Up to one year in jail
- Three-year probation period
- Requirement to install and maintain an ignition interlock device on all vehicles you operate
Learn more about the consequences you may be facing by visiting our DWI Penalties page.
For aggravated DWI in Buffalo, NY, turn to the experience of Lipsitz Green Scime Cambria.
When dealing with aggravated driving while intoxicated, there is no substitute for experience. Lipsitz Green Scime Cambria fully understands the complex nuances of aggravated DWI and the firm has the knowledge and resources to get you the best possible outcome. For more than 25 years, Lipsitz Green has been helping clients understand the timelines, potential penalties and options that are available in driving while intoxicated cases. You can trust the firm’s team of dedicated, hard-working lawyers to advise and protect you and your family every step of the way.
Get the information and support you need for your aggravated DWI case.
If you’ve been charged with aggravated DWI in Buffalo, New York you need a criminal defense firm that will act quickly and aggressively on your behalf. Lipsitz Green has understanding and supportive attorneys available to respond 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Contact Lipsitz Green Scime Cambria’s DWI team today at 716 849 1333 or download the DWI App now.